CSE-433 Logic in Computer Science - Schedule

[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources | Students ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park


  • The schedule is subject to change throughout the semester.
  • CS = Course Notes. (The up-to-date version including all chapters [PS, PDF])
Date    Lecture   Reading    Assignment Due

Tue Sep 1   Overview of logic [PPT]    CS Chapter 1    
Thu Sep 3   Propositional logic     CS Chapter 2    

Tue Sep 8   Local soundness/completeness        Assignment 0
Thu Sep 10   Hypothetical judgments       

Tue Sep 15   Proof terms     CS Chapter 3    Assignment 1
Thu Sep 17   Type system        

Tue Sep 22   First-order logic (I)    CS Chapter 5    Assignment 2
Thu Sep 24   First-order logic (II)        

Tue Sep 29   Datatypes, primitive recursion    CS Chapter 6     Assignment 3
Thu Oct 1   Induction on terms        

Tue Oct 6   Definitional equality, inductive predicates        Assignment 4
Thu Oct 8   Induction on predicates        

Tue Oct 13           Assignment 5
Thu Oct 15          

Tue Oct 20   Examples of inductive proofs         Assignment 6
Thu Oct 22   Midterm        

Tue Oct 27   Normal proofs and normalization     CS Chapters 2, 3   
Thu Oct 29   Sequent calculus     CS Chapter 4   

Tue Nov 3   Cut elimination         Assignment 7
Thu Nov 5   Normalization for the natural deduction system        

Tue Nov 10   Classical logic (I)        Assignment 8
Thu Nov 12   Classical logic (II)        

Tue Nov 17   Double negation translation        Assignment 9
Thu Nov 19   CPS translation        

Tue Nov 24   Inversion, Backward search     Pfenning, Chapter 4.1    
Thu Nov 26   Forward search     Pfenning, Chapter 5        

Tue Dec 1   Modal logic     Paper   
Thu Dec 3   (no class)        

Tue Dec 8   Linear logic (I) Pfenning, Chapters 1 and 2     Assignment 10
Thu Dec 10   Review

Final Exam TBD.

[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources | Students ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park