CSE-321 Programming Languages - Schedule

[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park


  • The schedule is subject to change throughout the semester.
  • CS = Course Notes. (The up-to-date version including all chapters [PDF])
    Pucella = Notes on Programming SML/NJ, Riccardo Pucella


Date    Lecture   Reading    Quiz    Assignment Due

Tue Mar 3   Overview
Introduction to functional programming (I)
Slide [PPT]
Slide [PPT]
A Critical Look at Programming Languages by Tim Sweeney 
The Free Lunch is Over: A Fundamental Turn Toward Concurrency in Software
Software and the Concurrency Revolution (ACM Queue, September 2005) [Local copy PDF]
Beating the Averages by Paul Graham  
   

Tue Mar 8   Introduction to functional programming (II)    
Thur Mar 10   Introduction to functional programming (III)   Assignment 1

Thur Mar 15   Inductive definitions CS Chapter 2 [PDF]
 
Tue Mar 17   Inductive proofs   Assignment 2

Tue Mar 22   Lambda calculus CS Chapter 3 [PDF]
Quiz 1  
Thur Mar 24   Reduction strategy   Assignment 3

Tue Mar 29   Substitution Quiz 2  
Thur Mar 31   Programming in the lambda calculus  

Tue Apr 5   Simply-typed lambda calculus CS Chapter 4 [PDF]
Quiz 3 Assignment 4 
Thur Apr 7   Extension to the simply-typed lambda calculus CS Chapter 5 [PDF]
 

Tue Apr 12   De Bruijn indexes  
Thur Apr 14   Type safety   Assignment 5

Tue Apr 19   Evaluation contexts CS Chapter 8 [PDF]
Quiz 4  
Thur Apr 21   Environments and closures CS Chapter 9 [PDF]
 

Midterm, April 23, 7pm-10pm. 정보통신연구소 143호. Closed book.

Tue Apr 26   Abstract machines  
Thur Apr 28   Mutable references CS Chapter 6 [PDF]
 

Tue May 3   Mutable references (II)  
Thur May 5   (Holiday)  

Tue May 10   (Holiday) Assignment 6 
Thur May 12   Subtyping CS Chapter 11 [PDF]
Quiz 5

Tue May 17   Recursive types CS Chapter 12 [PDF]
 
Thur May 19   System F, Programming in System F CS Chapter 13 [PDF]
Quiz 6 Assignment 7 

Tue May 24   Predicative polymorphic lambda calculus  
Thur May 26   Let polymorphism and implicit polymorphism Quiz 7

Tue May 31   Type reconstruction  
Thur June 2   Value restriction Quiz 8

Tue June 7   (no class)
Thur June 9   Assignment 8    

Tue June 14   Review Slide [PPT]
Assignment 8 (June 12) 

Final, June 18, 7pm-11pm. 정보통신연구소 143호. Closed book.


[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park