CSE-321 Programming Languages - Schedule

[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park


  • Lectures are Tuesday and Thursday 16:15pm-17:30pm, 정보통신연구소 122호.
  • The schedule is subject to change throughout the semester.
  • CS = Course Notes. (The up-to-date version including all chapters [PDF])
    Pucella = Notes on Programming SML/NJ, Riccardo Pucella


Date    Lecture   Reading    Quiz    Assignment Due

Tue Mar 2   Overview Slide [PPT]
A Critical Look at Programming Languages by Tim Sweeney 
The Free Lunch is Over: A Fundamental Turn Toward Concurrency in Software
Software and the Concurrency Revolution (ACM Queue, September 2005) [Local copy PDF]
Beating the Averages by Paul Graham  
   
Thur Mar 4   Introduction to functional programming (I) CS Chapter 1 [PDF]
Pucella Chapters 1, 2, 3
Slide [PPT]
   

Tue Mar 9   Introduction to functional programming (II)    
Thur Mar 11   Inductive definitions CS Chapter 2 [PDF]
  Assignment 1

Tue Mar 16   Inductive proofs    
Thur Mar 18   Rule induction   Assignment 2

Tue Mar 23   Lambda calculus CS Chapter 3 [PDF]
Quiz 1  
Thur Mar 25   Substitution   Assignment 3

Tue Mar 30   Programming in the lambda calculus Quiz 2  
Thur April 1   De Bruijn indexes  

Tue April 6   Simply-typed lambda calculus CS Chapter 4 [PDF]
   
Thur April 8   Extension to the simply-typed lambda calculus CS Chapter 5 [PDF]
  Assignment 4

Tue Apr 13   (Instructor out of town)  
Thur Apr 15   (Instructor out of town)   Assignment 5

Tue Apr 20   Type safety
Thur Apr 22   Evaluation contexts CS Chapter 8 [PDF]

Tue Apr 27   Environments and closures CS Chapter 9 [PDF]
Thur Apr 29   Abstract machines Quiz 3

Tue May 4   Mutable references CS Chapter 6 [PDF]
 
Thur May 6   Subtyping CS Chapter 11 [PDF]
  Assignment 6

Tue May 11   Recursive types CS Chapter 12 [PDF]
 
Thur May 13   (해맞이 한마당)   Assignment 7

Tue May 18   Polymorphism CS Chapter 13 [PDF]
 
Thur May 20   System F  

Tue May 25   Predicative polymorphic lambda calculus
Thur May 27   Let polymorphism

Tue June 1   Type reconstruction
   
Thur June 3   Value restriction Quiz 4  

Tue June 8   Introduction to logic in computer science     
Thur June 10   Review Slide [PPT]
  Assignment 8

Midterm, April 19, 7pm-9pm. 정보통신연구소 143호. Closed book.

Final, June 12, 7pm-10pm. 정보통신연구소 143호. Closed book.


[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park