CSE-321 Programming Languages - Schedule

[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park


  • Lectures are Monday and Wednesday 9:30am - 10:45pm, 정보통신연구소 143호.
  • The schedule is subject to change throughout the semester.
  • CS = Course Notes. (The up-to-date version including all chapters [PS, PDF])
    Pucella = Notes on Programming SML/NJ, Riccardo Pucella

Date    Lecture   Reading    Quiz    Assignment Due

Mon Mar 5   Overview Slide [PPT]
A Critical Look at Programming Languages by Tim Sweeney 
   
Wed Mar 7   Introduction to functional programming (I) CS Chapter 1 [PS, PDF]
Pucella Chapters 1, 2, 3
Slide [PPT]
   

Mon Mar 12   Introduction to functional programming (II) Slide [PPT]
   
Wed Mar 14   Inductive definition CS Chapter 2 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
   Assignment 1

Mon Mar 19   Inductive proof Slide [PPT]    
Wed Mar 21   λ-Calculus (I) CS Chapter 3 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
  Assignment 2

Mon Mar 26   λ-Calculus (II) Slide [PPT] Quiz 1 [PS, PDF]
Wed Mar 28   Simply-typed λ-calculus CS Chapter 4 [PS, PDF]
Chapter 1, Types and Programming Languages, B. Pierce
Slide [PPT]
 

Mon Apr 2   Type safety Slide [PPT]   Assignment 3 
Wed Apr 4   Extensions to the simply typed λ-calculus CS Chapter 5 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
    

Mon Apr 9   Mutable references CS Chapter 6 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
Quiz 2 [PS, PDF]  
Wed Apr 11   Typechecking CS Chapter 7 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
    

Mon Apr 16   Evaluation contexts CS Chapter 8 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
  Assignment 4
Wed Apr 18   Environments and Closures CS Chapter 9 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
   

Midterm, April 25 (Wednesday) 8pm-11pm. 정보통신연구소 143호. Closed book.
Exam [PS, PDF] Solution [PS, PDF]

Mon Apr 30   Abstract machine E Slide [PPT]    
Wed May 2   de Bruijn index (1) CS Section 3.7 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
  Assignment 5

Mon May 7   de Bruijn index (2) Slide [PPT]  
Wed May 9   Exceptions and continuations CS Chapter 10 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
Quiz 3 [PS, PDF]  

Mon May 14   Subtyping CS Chapter 11 [PS, PDF]
Section 18.1, Types and Programming Languages, B. Pierce
Slide [PPT]
    
Wed May 16   Recursive types CS Chapter 12 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
  Assignment 6

Mon May 21   System F CS Chapter 13 [PS, PDF]
Slide [PPT]
   
Wed May 23   Predicative polymorphic λ-calculus Slide [PPT]    

Mon May 28   Let-polymorphism Slide [PPT]     
Wed May 30   Type reconstruction Slide [PPT]   Assignment 7

Mon June 4   Curry-Howard isomorphism Slide [PPT] Quiz 4 [PS, PDF]  
Wed June 6   (no class)    

Mon June 11   Call-by-name Slide [PPT]    
Wed June 13   Review Slide [PPT]   Assignment 8

Final Exam, June 17 (Sunday) 3pm-6pm. 정보통신연구소 143호. Closed book.
Exam [PS, PDF] Solution [PS, PDF]

[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources ] gla@postech Sungwoo Park